Press Release



For Release: Immediate

Contact: Judell Anderson, CAE, Executive Director (612) 623-1110

AASP-MN Awards Scholarships to Automotive Students

The Alliance of Automotive Service Providers of Minnesota (AASP-MN) is pleased to announce scholarship awards totaling \$16,000 to help automotive service and collision repair students pay for tuition or tools during the 2019-20 school year. The scholarships are in the amount of \$1,000 per student and were made possible by a successful fundraising drive within the AASP-MN membership, as well as generous donations from the Minnesota State I-CAR Committee and the Bill Smith Fund.

Thirty college and high school students from 13 schools submitted scholarship applications. Applications were reviewed by a committee of industry representatives, with consideration given to scholastic achievement, education and career goals, financial need and written recommendations.

The recipients are:

- Jacob Boynton, MN State College, Southeast Technical, Winona Auto Body Collision Repair
- Toben DeHaan, Dunwoody College of Technology, Minneapolis Automotive Service Technology
- Mekiah Grillo, Hennepin Technical College, Brooklyn Park Automotive Service Technology
- Jeff Horecka, Dakota County Technical College, Rosemount Automotive Service Technology
- Wah Htoo, St. Paul College, St. Paul Automotive Service Technology
- Holly Isdahl, Dakota County Technical College, Rosemount Auto Body Collision Repair
- Brady Kellner, MN State College, Southeast Technical, Winona Auto Body Collision Repair
- Brenden Kerns, MN State College, Southeast Technical, Winona Auto Body Collision Repair
- Grant Leshovsky, MN State Community & Technical College, Moorhead Automotive Service Technology
- Samuel Nelson, Ridgewater College, Willmar Automotive Service Technology
- Khoa Luc Nguyen, Hennepin Technical College, Eden Prairie Automotive Service Technology
- Haiden Peterson, Dakota County Technical College, Rosemount Auto Body Collision Repair
- Vincent Sogbey, Anoka Technical College, Anoka Automotive Service Technology
- Edward Stasyuk, Hennepin Technical College, Eden Prairie Auto Body Collision Repair
- Angelica Tonge, Dakota County Technical College, Rosemount Auto Body Collision Repair
- Derek Wallrich, Century College, White Bear Lake Automotive Service Technology

Congratulations to all of this year's recipients!

The scholarship awards are the centerpiece of AASP-MN's Automotive Education Fund, which was established to provide financial resources to support automotive students, enhance automotive programs and raise awareness of career opportunities in the independent automotive service industry.

The Alliance of Automotive Service Providers of Minnesota (AASP-MN) is an association of nearly 800 independentlyowned automotive service businesses and industry suppliers dedicated to improving the state's automotive service industry and the success of its members.